What to Read Next...

...as a member of the Tuscarawas Philharmonic might suggest.

There's a rumor going around that people don't read any more, but that's just not true. We read, and we read quite a bit. The average American reads at least 12 books a year, in fact.

We here at the Philharmonic read quite a bit as well, and we've assembled a short list of books some of us are reading or have recently finished. Look through it, and see if you find your next book here.

Then, leave a comment to let us know what you're reading.

  • A Child Called "It" by Dave Pelzer.  The book chronicles the unforgettable account of one of the most severe child abuses in California history. (Read by Chad Roberts, horn)

  • Writings on the Wall: Searching for a New Equality Beyond Black and White by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.  In the book, Abdul-Jabbar delves into questions of racial, religious, and gender equality.  Interestingly--especially for those of us who are now AARP members--he also examines age discrimination on both ends of the spectrum. (Read by Jim Perone, principal clarinet)

  • In the Great Green Room: The Brilliant and Bold Life of Margaret Wise Brown by Amy Gary. This is a biography of the author of Goodnight Moon and The Runaway Bunny, among other enduring children’s books. (Read by Robyn Martins, horn)

  • A Hidden Wholeness: The Journey Toward An Undivided Life by Parker J. Palmer. (Read by Richard Geib, board president)

  • Champions of Change: The Impact of the Arts on Learning by Edward B. Fiske, Ed. This title is part of the curriculum for a class at University of Mount Union. (Read, and taught by, Elaine Anderson, principal cello)

  • A Forger’s Life by Adolfo Kaminsky and The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead. (Read by Joan Wenzel, percussion)

  • Bach: Music in the Castle of Heaven by John Eliot Gardiner and The Snopes Trilogy by William Faulkner. (Read by Dan Conwell, principal bass)

  • The Witness by Nora Roberts. (Read by Patti Hoover, principal oboe)

  • War Brides by Helen Bryan. (Read by Sallie Stroup, executive director)

  • Seeking Alah, Finding Jesus by Nabeel Qureshi. (Read by Bud Winn, chorus member)

Share this: